We Aren’t in Seattle Anymore

First Brazil blessed us with Havianas, the multi colored flip flops worn by many. But given the inclement weather as of late, I’m less inclined to go open toe opting instead for some fun closed-toe plastics made by Brazilian manufacturer, Melissa. These PVC shoes come in handy during and after a day of rain.

melissa Clough (or clog as we say stateside)
melissa Clough (or clog as we say stateside)

The company teamed up with a few designers, including Campana Brothers, Vivienne Westwood and Zaha Hadid (ok, she’s an architect) and offers much more than the Dutch shoes, as shown above. Design blog, Core77 offers a nice little write up here and offers a shopping link to Epaulet, a store in Brooklyn.

I bought my red clogs earlier this month at Blue Tree, a quirky little shop at 1283 Madison Avenue (between 91st and 92nd Streets) that sells unique gifts and toys, jewelry and clothing. Most of the things that are on offer are more likely to be found downtown, in the East Village or across the River. Owned by Phoebe Cates, the store offers a breath of fresh air from the sometimes staid atmosphere Uptown. There, I said it. And yes, the weather is taking a toll on my psyche.

“I don’t think many people will notice them,” said the 15-year old, with a twinkle in her eye, as I mulled over what color rain shoes to purchase.

I chose red over yellow thinking they’d pick up the color in my … yes, fancy uptown raincoat.

burberry

In case it ever stops raining, I’ll be very happy to deposit my groovy Dutch-style made in Brazil inclement weather clogs in the coat closet WITH my fancy raincoat.

But, in the meanwhile, I wear the red shoes and coat with twisted uptown flair. Suffice it to say, they slightly elevate my mood. Simple pleasures.

Just goes to show you, “Every cloud has a silver lining.”

Lulu Guinness Umbrella
Lulu Guinness Umbrella

And there’s more. More Melissa shoes, that is and they are on sale this week:

Wednesday, June 24 through Sunday

June 28 from 12n to 7p

520 W. 27th Street,  Suite 601

Vivienne Westwood Three Straps are lowered from $119 to $45,  Vinyls are $40 (from $99), and Zen Girls are reduced from $79 to $35. There are lots of others in all sizes. The cloughs are not on sale, though, the showroom is out of stock. If the sale styles don’t work for you or if you are a size 6 or 7 and feel like hightailing it to the East Village, there’s one pair of white cloughs (clogs) on sale for $39 at gominyc, 443 East Sixth Street. Call first, tel. 212.979.0388. The shoes are super cute, if I do say so myself. xoxo

UPDATE:

Melissa’s “cloughs” are on sale! In bright purple, black, fuchscia – the showroom is on 27th street between 10th and 11th Avenues. The 15-year old and I headed over this afternoon and came back with plenty of plastic. If you aren’t able to pick up some this go ’round, stay tuned, there will be another sale in August.

Leave a Reply

