NY to LA

It’s been nearly two years since the LA family packed up the wagon and journeyed across the country in pursuit of the great white way (actually, a change of job for the MD husband lured the balance of the family east, Broadway had nothing to do with leaving the glitz and glam of Hollywood behind).  The opportunity to attend a Broadway show or two is just one of the many benefits of life in the City.

After a year in the NY saddle, following monthly returns to my adopted home-state and a “talking to” from my mother-in-law (MIL) in July 2007, I realized, with only the slightest bit of resentment, she was right. Three out of four displaced Californians were content and I, too, needed to make a life for myself in our new city.  In August 2007, I made a commitment to accept there was no turning back. It wasn’t easy.  I signed up for a continuing education class at Columbia and under the tutelage of New York Times journalist, Lawrence Van Gelder, I learned “how to write.”  Professor Van Gelder challenged me as no other teacher did and I am now, much to my amazement, enrolled in Columbia’s Journalism School. I’ve got two years until graduation and haven’t a clue as to what I will do upon completion but for the time being, I’ll carry on my roll as a mother of two, the wife of one (supportive, loving husband), friend to a few and student of journalism. The yoga and spinning classes fit in intermittently as does the “consulting” work for a handful of non-profits in the arts and education. I am grateful for the turn of events, sSs

 

One response to “NY to LA

  1. Welcome home … on all fronts.

Leave a Reply

