Sweater Weather…

It’s mink sweater weather. Or it was yesterday. I witnessed a mommy pushing her stroller, didn’t note the brand, along one of the numbered streets en route to the park, no doubt. She wore a white mink pull-over, cowl neck, bulky sleeves that hit her mid section just above the waist line of her flare bottom blue jeans.

The color of the mink made me think of my mother’s first fur. It was so soft and struck me that unlike my grandmother’s fur which was a chesnut brown, mom’s was white. She wore it for a few years until Gram indulged her in a black mink. This one was longer, more luscious than the first and it hangs in our front hall closet. I wore it once on an exceptionally cold winter day. It wasn’t warmer than my black puffer coat and the styling of the 1970’s did nothing for this girl’s shapely figure. I’ve since learned from some of my more “stylish” friends who’ve also inherited their mother’s fur coats that cinching the waist with a wide belt improves the look. Even better would be to take the pelt to J. Mendel for a re-do OR even better would be to go to SAKS and purchase a knee length coat designed by Marc Jacobs –

But here’s the thing. I don’t need a fur coat nor am I especially keen to wear a dead animal’s pelt. It repulses me but there’s no denying that they are soft, sensual and I’ve got the coat, might as well use it? Or not? Ever the libra, I do have a tough time making decisions. Fortunately, it’s FINALLY turning into Spring so I can set the dilemma off for a season or two. Or not. If I want the coat re-built for the onset of Winter and all of the fancy outings that occur that time of year, better get snipping…

Leave a Reply

